BJP has 101 MPs in Rajya Sabha
BJP has 101 MPs in Rajya Sabha

For the first time in the Rajya Sabha, the BJP has crossed the 100-member mark. As a result, the BJP has become the first party since 1988 to achieve this milestone. The saffron party now has 101 seats in the Upper House of Parliament following its recent election on Thursday.

Related Post – Benefits of Press Release Distribution – 7 Advantages of a Press Release For Your Business, Brand & People

Rajya Sabha Election Results 2022 Highlights

As a result of winning four of the thirteen seats that went to the poll on Thursday, the BJP is able to achieve this feat. United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL), the coalition ally of the BJP, won the Assam Rajya Sabha seat. In northeastern Assam, Tripura, and Nagaland, BJP won four Rajya Sabha seats. They have also gained a larger representation in the Upper House in these regions.

See Also  Chandrababu Naidu took oath as Andhra Pradesh CM for the fourth time, Pawan Kalyan became deputy CM

Assam’s Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma tweeted, “Assam has validated Prime Minister Modi’s popularity by electing two NDA members to the Rajya Sabha. BJP’s Pabitra Margherita won by 11 votes, and UPPL’s Ravangavra Narzari won by nine. Congratulations to the winners.”.

Having been thrown out of the race for the August vice-presidential election by the BJP’s 100th vote in the Rajya Sabha, the opposition has withdrawn. On Thursday, Assam and Tripura voted for two seats in the Rajya Sabha. BJP candidate S. Phangnon Konyak, state president of the women’s wing, has been elected unopposed to Nagaland’s lone Rajya Sabha seat, becoming the first woman to be elected to the Upper House of Parliament from the state.

See Also  After taking oath, PM Narendra Modi reached the office; the ministry will be divided shortly

Assam’s Rajya Sabha term of Ripun Bora and Rani Nara is set to end on April 2.

Related Post – How to Remove Copyright Claim on Instagram – Avoid Instagram Music Copyright Infringement

Advertisement -