Punjab Kings made 3 more changes for the 16th season of IPL
Punjab Kings made 3 more changes for the 16th season of IPL

Three additional changes have been made to the Punjab Kings squad for the 16th season of the Indian Premier League (IPL). Before the start of the 2023 season, the Punjab squad, known for its yearly changes, moved the coach to the captain and discharged a number of players.

Related Post – Top 7 Online Marketing Strategies to Create a Brand Identity for Business

Punjab has also changed the coaching staff since Mayank Agarwal was fired last season. In addition to rehiring former Indian cricketer Wasim Jaffer as their batting coach, the club has also retained veteran South African fast bowler Charl Langeveldt as its bowling coach. As for the third alteration, Brad Haddin, a former Australian wicketkeeper, has been named the team’s assistant coach.

Jaffer was the batting coach for two years

It is important to note that Wasim Jaffer, a former Indian opener, served as Punjab’s batting coach from 2019 to 2021 before resigning prior to the super auction in 2022 to take the coaching job with the Odisha Ranji side in domestic cricket. Damian Wright succeeded Langeveldt as the team’s bowling coach in 2021 after Langeveldt held the position in 2020.

Punjab also changed captain and coach

Other significant changes in the Punjab team include the decision to oust Australian Trevor Bayliss as head coach in September after the club elected not to extend Anil Kumble’s contract. Mayank Agarwal was released from the team at the same time as his removal from the captaincy. Shikhar Dhawan, a veteran player, was later named the new captain in his place.

Mayank and Smith released

The team made the decision to release nine players, including Mayank Agarwal and Odion Smith, and enhance their compensation before the mini-auction scheduled to take place in Kochi in December. While the team has 16 players, Punjab currently has Rs 32.2 crore.

Punjab’s current squad

Atharva Taide, Arshdeep Singh, Baltej Singh, Nathan Ellis, Kagiso Rabada, Rahul Chahar, Harpreet Brar, Jonny Bairstow, Prabhsimran Singh, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Jitesh Sharma, Raj Bawa, Rishi Dhawan, Liam Livingstone, and Nathan Ellis.

Advertisement -